Old 03-16-2020, 09:14 PM   #1
Veteran Member

City: Alpharetta, GA
Vessel Name: About Time
Vessel Model: Meridian 368
Ready to Move from Lake to Ocean

I'm new to Trawler Forum. I was subscribed to Cruisers Forum which is sailboat focused, and I'm a power boater. After two years, finally found this sister site and glad to join. We have mostly been lake boaters except for a BVI charter last year. We currently own a Meridian 368 on Lake Lanier just north of Atlanta, GA. We've been boaters for a long time owning everything from a bass boat up to our current motor yacht. Thankfully, my wife loves boating as much as I do.

After one last summer on the lake this year, we plan to sell our boat here, buy a boat on the east coast US and find a marina somewhere between about Charleston and Savannah which is the closest coastline to our home. We plan to be part-time liveaboards keeping our house in the Atlanta suburbs. We're planning to mostly cruise the ICW. The Great Loop could be in our future.

In preparation, we have two hands-on boating classes and charter scheduled with Southwest Florida Yachts in May. We need to learn all of the things that we don't need to worry about on a modest sized lake like navigation, tides, currents, etc, etc.

We're really looking forward to being able to actually go somewhere with our boat. Right now it's pretty much going out for the day, anchor, swim and return to our dock or the occasional overnight. It's fun but getting old for us. There really are no destinations to speak of and certainly no transient slips at the marinas even though we could travel 20 miles to the north end of the lake. Nothing there that we can't do closer to home....anchor, swim, etc.

Looking forward to being part of this group.
Frank60 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2020, 09:39 PM   #2
Guru

City: Bayfield, WI
Vessel Name: Gopher Broke
Vessel Model: Silverton 410 Sport Bridge
Welcome to the forum!