Old 04-27-2020, 09:39 PM   #1

City: Houston
Vessel Name: HONU
Vessel Model: Grand Banks 42 Classic
Permission to come aboard?

I have owned my Grand Banks 42 Classic almost a year now and am wondering why I am just now joining this forum, which I have searched for advice on numerous occasions. I am a do-it-yourselfer and have been slowly learning the intricacies of the various systems aboard and have gotten a pretty good feel for handling the boat at this point. We spend more time in the slip than underway, but I enjoy every minute regardless. Well, when my head is bleeding from whacking the overhead in the engine room is not enjoyable, but I got me a fancy bump cap and now, every time I whack it on the overhead, I think to myself that I have prevented yet another split scalp, and that is somewhat satisfying.

From the time my family moved back to the Houston area from El Paso when I was 3, I have loved being on or near the water. I am a maritime lawyer by background, but for the last 15+ years have been an executive with a domestic marine transportation company. I served 21 years in the Naval Reserve as an intelligence officer. I have always wanted a trawler and had the opportunity to purchase a well maintained and equipped Grand Banks 42 Classic from a fellow club member (I think I am the fourth member of the club to own her). So, now I am a happy camper. My lament is that I cannot get enough time away from work to go anywhere exciting, but I can still dream of the day I can take a longer trip. The COVID-19 situation has demonstrated that I can continue to work and not be in the office, so maybe I can cut loose sometime soon.

My wife is a good sport and has found that patches, ginger and other remedies keep her seasickness at bay. She has taken to updating the curtains, pillows and other necessaries while I have been fiddling with more trivial items like zincs, seacocks, pumps and wiring. Together, we make a petty good team.
HONUHYC is offline   Reply With Quote