One more checks on my bucket list?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone who enjoys boating.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

jfcarbonneau

Hi everybody and thank you in advance for your help,

I am considering buying a 40’ to 45’ power boat and keep it on Florida’s west coast anywhere between Tampa and Marco Island. I am somewhat new to boating; I have owned an 18 feet Four Winns and a 21 feet BOMBARDIER Sea Doo powerboat but nothing close to a 45 feet boat. Here are my plan and goals…

- I want a used two or three staterooms boat that is stable in rough seas, will cruise with efficient fuel consumption and can bring us to New Orleans, the Keys, or the Bahamas. I am thinking about a well maintained trawler.

- I live in New England and would like to find a good slip and live on my boat from December 1st to April 30th. Ideally, I would prefer to get the boat out of the water during the summer months and put it back in the fall when I am ready to come down south.

Here are my questions:

- Is a Trawler a good option?

- What should I expect as boat slip costs if I live aboard 4 to 5 months a year?

- I am planning on buying a well maintained used boat (2000-2006) and I expect to spend no more than 20 to 25 thousand a year in slip cost and maintenance fees, is it realistic?

- Anything else I should be aware of?

Thanks in advance!

JF

Hi everybody and thank you in advance for your help,

Here are my questions:

- Is a Trawler a good option?

- What should I expect as boat slip costs if I live aboard 4 to 5 months a year?

- I am planning on buying a well maintained used boat (2000-2006) and I expect to spend no more than 20 to 25 thousand a year in slip cost and maintenance fees, is it realistic?

- Anything else I should be aware of?

Thanks in advance!

JF
Hi JF,

Welcome to the forum!

To your questions: