Old 08-16-2014, 05:49 PM   #1

City: Clear Lake Shores,Tx
Vessel Name: In Disguise
Vessel Model: 1985 Mainship 40 DC
New Wannabe

Hi
I just joined this forum. I'm an over the road trucker soon to retire. My wife and I have a dream of purchasing a live aboard trawler (used) but in decent shape....we plan on home porting in the Gulf of Mexico or along the southern intra-coastal waterway...when it's hot, we'll go north, and when it's cold........well, you get the idea. We plan on doing the "loop" over and over, along with some other cruises. My boating experience is mainly during my time with the USCG. I'm a qualified cox'n of many vessels and have my heavy weather, surfman qualifications earned at Cape Disappointment, Or. Also fair at navigating, but still thankful for GPS. Any introductions, hints, suggestions are strongly encouraged. Thanks for reading, and hope you won't mind my plethora of questions...I've never owned a large (38-42 feet) vessel. The US gov't was always nice enough to provide them for me to play with!
wyoboater is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2014, 06:58 PM   #2
Guru

City: Upstate,SC
Vessel Name: Shipoopi
Vessel Model: derilic sailboat
Welcome.

What a pain in the transom.

ben2go is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2014, 07:05 PM   #3
Guru

City: Niceville, FL
Vessel Name: At Last
Vessel Model: 1990 Jefferson 52 Marquessa
Welcome aboard and thanks for your service. Ask all you want!
Rogerh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2014, 07:10 PM   #4
Moderator Emeritus

City: St. Marks, Florida
Vessel Name: Morgan
Vessel Model: Gulfstar 36
Welcome aboard. Hope you come up with something you and your wife can enjoy. It is a nice lifestyle, but unfortunately doesn't seem to suit everyone (for various reasons). So be sure it is what you (and your wife!) really want to do before you do the final commitment. Taking things in stages is a great idea (read, look, sample, charter, etc, etc).
Old 08-16-2014, 07:15 PM   #5

Thanks to all: