Old 11-14-2021, 08:28 AM   #1

City: Brandon
New Member from Mississippi

Hello All,

I'm a boating newbie, especially powerboats. Owned a 26' MacGregor in the 90s on an inland lake, the Ross Barnett Reservoir. Looking to learn everything I need to know for coastal cruising and one day, possibly passage-making. Semi-retiring at the end of this year.

Thanks to all for this platform and for your patience with me.

JimmyB...
JimmyB62 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2021, 08:52 AM   #2
Enigma

City: Slicker?
Greetings,
Welcome aboard y'all. US Power Squadron boating courses are a good way to start. Rules of the road, and all that. ONE advantage of taking a "classroom" course (if they're being offered in these unsettled times) is you connect with like minded individuals (boaters). Nothing wrong with building a boating network.

We got lotsa patients...

Old 11-14-2021, 09:13 AM   #3
Guru

City: st pete
Vessel Model: 430 Mainship
Totally agree with RT.

So, a few questions....
Do you plan to move to the coast for your coastal cruising? Or live on a boat?

And/or, are you going to get a boat for the lake for awhile? And can I assume the lake does not connect to the Loop route anywhere?

You have lots of options, but agree some training and some boating experience on any size boat would be valuable, preferably similar to what you want to end up with.

And there's an argument to get a boat that you plan on replacing in a few years.... a "learning" boat. And part of the learning is to learn what you really want and what fits your wants, needs and pocketbook.

My learning boat was a 27 ft Sundancer. Could do most everything with it on a small scale.... cruise, island hop, overnights, marinas, etc., etc. One of the things I learned is that IOs suck, even though I stupidly bought a few more before going to "diesel church".
Old 11-14-2021, 12:54 PM   #4

Training and Questions