New Member Looking to Switch to a Trawler

The friendliest place on the web for anyone who enjoys boating.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

scottdantis

Vessel Name
Scott Free and Gigi Too
Vessel Make
Silverton 2002 392
Hello everyone I am new member with a Silverton 392. I have been boating for over 30 years in Long Island, New Jersey and now I have moved our boating to the Chesapeake Bay in Rock Hall MD. We primarily cruse for the long weekends locally.

Our Silverton certainly is not a Trawler, with large 8.1 crusaders and very high fuel consumption. We are looking to move over to a Trawler style in a smaller boat over the next few years as we retire. Any suggestions or feedback is greatly appreciated as we learn about the new Trawler style boating lifestyle.

Thank You

Welcome to the trawler life Scott. I am new to trawlers myself, and I am very much enjoying reading up on these forms and learning new things.

Thanks so much looking to learn more , and get guidance on my final boat.

Thanks so much looking to learn more , and get guidance on my final boat.

Welcome Scott.

Firstly, there is rarely a final boat.

Secondly, you need to be a little more specific in what you are looking for in your next boat if you want some valuable suggestions. Saying "I want a trawler" is barely better than "I want a boat". Budget? Age? Size? Intended purpose? Engine type and how many? etc etc etc

Lastly whatever boat you decide on will come with a terrible anchor that needs replacing.

Welcome aboard. Final boat??? We are on our 24th boat and 4 or 5 ago was going to be our final boat.