Old 04-16-2018, 08:16 PM   #1

City: Seattle
Greetings from the NW

Hello,

Wanted to introduce myself... To be honest, I'm fairly new to power boating (only sailed small boats growing up).
I'm considering a trawler as a family boat for my sons to enjoy and possible future part time live-abord when I retire in a few years. I'm starting to look at boats and wanted to know if anyone had some guidance on what to look for in buying a trawler...Is there a dedicated thread or list to follow on the forum?
I know the boat survey will catch most issues but I wanted to know what to really inspect prior to making the step of ordering the survey?

Also, if there is anyone in the NW who would be willing to guide me or share wisdom or experience---I'd be happy to offer free lunch or boat supplies in return. I see a lot of posters are local to the NW. Just throwing that out there.

Cheers
DRGUY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2018, 08:55 PM   #2
Guru

City: LaConner
Vessel Model: 34' CHB
Welcome, if you look on the home page you will see a number of threads about different boats and the plus or minus's of same. Boats are a very personal thing, and one mans dream is another mans nightmare. Good luck with the search. As in many things in life the pursuit is often more fun than the capture.
78puget-trawler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2018, 08:57 PM   #3
Guru

City: Sarasota,FL/Thomasville,GA
Vessel Name: Steppin Stone IV
Vessel Model: Marine Trader Kelly Trawler 46
Welcome
Old 04-16-2018, 09:22 PM   #4
Guru

City: Gig Harbor
Vessel Name: Kinship
Vessel Model: North Pacific 43
Welcome!

There are a variety of threads on this topic. I think I started one myself when I was looking myself a couple years ago.

Two places I would start in terms of your thought processes.
1. How much do you want to spend.
2. How to you anticipate using the boat and with whom will you be using it.

Dave
SPOT page
dhays is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2018, 09:30 PM   #5
Guru