Old 08-01-2021, 04:33 PM   #1

City: Richmond
New gent looking at trawlers to retire in....

Hello all, I've been lurking her for awhile but finally ready to register and I don't think I can contribute much since I am new to boating but over time maybe that will change.

My first question out of the box is, what size trawler could someone fairly new to trawlers be able to operate single handedly once they get some (limited) experience? (I am not looking to live aboard).

I ask because I could see myself wanting to explore or fish when no one else is available but will this be possible? Spouse will be with me most of time but not necessarily all the time.

I would like to get a 36 - 40' trawler, if not realistic to handle myself, I was thinking a 27 - 31' Ranger Tug or comparable. I do have place in NC and FL that I will take training classes with and I look to hire captain for certain trips to build up experience.

My goal is not "blue water" but instead Chesapeake Bay, near shore Atlantic and Florida's gulf coast. Maybe Loop at some point or trips to Bahama's.

For the 40' trawlers options I am looking at Nordhavn, Beneteau Swift and some down east styles. Are there other boats that compete with the Beneteau Swift that has both slow and faster option?

Thanks
68camaro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2021, 05:29 PM   #2
Moderator Emeritus

City: Au Gres, MI
Vessel Name: Black Dog
Vessel Model: Formula 41PC
Welcome aboard.
Comodave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2021, 05:34 PM   #3
Master and Commander

City: Vallejo CA
Vessel Name: Carquinez Coot
Vessel Model: penultimate Seahorse Marine Coot hull #6
My single-screw, with bow thruster, 35-footer is readily single-handled. Many others have the same quality.
Attached Thumbnails
leaving berth.jpg  
Old 08-01-2021, 05:56 PM   #4
STB
Guru

City: Gulf coast
I single hand a 42' trawler. This is the 2nd one.