New to forum

The friendliest place on the web for anyone who enjoys boating.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

SCHUTZEE

Hi, I'm Bob and I just joined. I have been boating for over 50 years and have owned two Whalers, 21 Outrage and 18 Ventura (my current boat). I also owned a 2000 Albin 31 Tournement Express whch I loved. I sold it when my daughters were teens as they had too many other activities going on.

My long term girlfriend (21 years together) and I are looking for a boat to do the Downeast Loop. Has to be galley up, one stateroom is OK, built 2000 or newer. My max budget is $300K although I would prefer closer to $250K.

I like the speed of twins, but also like the protection of a single engine with a skeg protecting the prop.

I look forward to learning everything I can on this website and welcome suggestions.

Hello, Bob, and welcome aboard. It would appear from your boating background and your mention of liking the speed of twins that you are not intent on buying the typical 40-foot "ish" twin or single diesel engine powered trawler. I downsized from such a vessel in 2015, and they haven't booted me off yet.:)

What cruise speed are you after?

Do you have a fuel preference?

Do you want a comfortable anchoring vessel with, say, a generator or just inverter with adequate house battery bank?

How about the idea of a flying bride? I personally seldom used mine on long cruises, and am happy now without one at all. Others have the opposite preference.

Single stateroom suggests something more in line with a 30-foot "ish" vessel.

Hello, Bob, and welcome aboard. It would appear from your boating background and your mention of liking the speed of twins that you are not intent on buying the typical 40-foot "ish" twin or single diesel engine powered trawler. I downsized from such a vessel in 2015, and they haven't booted me off yet.:)