New to boating

The friendliest place on the web for anyone who enjoys boating.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Obsidian

Just saying hello
I’m new to boating. I’m here to pick everyone’s brain for any info I can get. Being thinking about buying a trawler for about four years. I thought I will listen, ask questions and learn as much as possible about boating before I make the plunge. I’m a complete novice, I just can’t get the notion of wanting to be on the water out of my head. So, firstly thank you all for all the help I will be asking for and know it’s very well appreciated. Secondly, I hope to make some contacts on here so when I am ready to buy I will have people I know to celebrate my first boat with. Again thanks in advance for all the help.

Gary
Welcome aboard TF.
For everyone looking / dreaming of getting into boating if any kind I usually recommend they seek out a nearby chaper of America's Boating Club (formally US Power Squadrons) or a USCG Aux. They both offer a good selection of basic & advanced boating courses. They are a great way to not only begin the learning process but also to develop a network of like minded and experienced folks to assist. Many ABC chapters are now offering on- the - water portions of their courses.

Welcome aboard. Tell us a little more about yourself. Family, age and plans. Also where you are located and where you hope to boat.

pete

I agree with Bacchus to sign up for some boating courses with the CG auxiliary or Power Squadron. Not sure where you're located but in some areas there are boating clubs where you can get hands on training and experience then have access to charter boats. Its worth trying some chartering, starting with a training skipper, to see how you like it.