Never trawled

The friendliest place on the web for anyone who enjoys boating.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Gilligansdeckhand

Veteran Member
Hey everyone. My name is David and I’m not only new to this forum but I’m new to trawling. I don’t even own a boat but have had a pontoon before. I know it isn’t anything like what I’m interested in but I’m not afraid to do things I’ve never done and anytime someone has told me I can’t do something it encourages me to try. I will be asking a lot of questions to prepare myself for when I decide to drift at sea. To begin with, what is it called when someone lives in a boat and cruises the coasts throughout the world. I intend to start small and maybe try the Great Loop and then a loop south to the Panama Canal and then north to Alaska. I’ve read that after completing those loops I might be ready to sail an ocean. Given that, how large of a vessel would be the minimum length. I am poor and would be cruising as cheap as possible. I am not physically able to do this in a sailboat but understand I might need at least one sail incase my engine fails and it’s something I can’t fix. I’m not easily offended so don’t worry yourselves about being candid with me. I’m just going to be gathering as much information as I can for the next 3 years when I hope to be able to start my next chapter.

Welcome aboard. To cross oceans requires a very substantial boat. That is one of the reasons many of us stick to coastal cruising. Personally, I have no desire to cross oceans but want to see more of our coastal areas here including the Great Lakes. Maybe take a look at a TrawlerFest. They have a lot of good info for beginners and seasoned boaters both.

I was only thinking that I might want to see New Zealand and Australia. I was in the Marines so I thought Okinawa to see what it’s like now. But I wouldn’t be able to afford a yacht so I’m listening to you. Do you also cruise South America