Old 03-07-2021, 12:49 PM   #1

City: Monterey
Vessel Name: Solution
Vessel Model: Marine Trader Sundeck 36
New from Monterey California

I've been using all the sage knowledge from this site for the last several months so I finally decided to become an honest man and register. I have a sailboat in Santa Cruz and recently bought a 1986 Marine Trader Sundeck 36 in Monterey (this is the first trawler I have owned). My wife and I sailed from Santa Cruz to Monterey on our sailboat with no intention of buying anything other than dinner. We decided to walk around the docks and 24 hours later, we owned a trawler (pending the survey of course). We loved the "funky" old trawler that had been a live aboard boat for 5 years. It was a home and well taken care of but some things need work and we have started the process of repairing/restoring but also enjoying which usually involved new cocktails that we have invented on the boat to go along with its view of the harbor and neighboring mountains.

CURRENT BATTLES:
Replacing the Toilets and Sanitation Hoses: I'm standardizing on Saniflex and have installed one toilet so far. I've had to deal with with some nightmarish routing scenarios but I came up with a really good way of running new hose by attaching it securely to the old hose not using traditional hose clamps (there is not room for those in the openings). I've seen no discussion of my attachment method on this forum so I'll contribute that info to one of the sanitation hose discussions. I'm converting the main toilet to a pressurized fresh water system using the Raritan Elegance. That's my next step.