Old 11-28-2010, 08:45 PM   #1
Guru

City: Port Vila
Hi from a newbie

Well, the admiral has decided she wants to be able to stand up when she has a shower so we are crossing to the dark side, selling the sailboat and looking to buy an ex fishing boat to convert into a extended range cruiser.I am a marine engineer so am well aware of the challenges of doing this (one of the reasons I want to)
Question for the aussies on here. I'm very taken with the Sharpie cray/trawlers in the 45' range but don't know a lot about them and am a little nervous buying a used wooden boat. Is there a standard construction for these boats, ie edge glued, caulked carvel, GOP etc? I don't seem to able to find much info on them.
We are currently in Fiji for cyclone season then Vanuatu & New Cal next winter before heading back to NZ to sell so plenty of time for asking lots of questions before the big move.
Nightcap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2010, 01:22 AM   #2

City: Tin Can Bay, Queensland, Australia
Vessel Model: Cheoy Lee, Trawler
RE: Hi from a newbie

Hi Nightcap and welcome to the forum

Nothing wrong going to the darkside a few of us have done so

Benn is the man you need to talk to when you see him on line.
He is of your profession also and has a wooden boat he built around 48 ft I think it is

Australia is a good place to find that type of boat going cheap and seaworthy to boot as a lot of smaller fishermen are selling their boats ATM

I would go for a hard chine first and carvel next but a bit rollypolly there

A splinded boat would be a good buy however Benn can enlighten you more

Allan
AllanY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2010, 02:18 AM   #3
Guru

City: Mooloolaba
Vessel Name: Flora
Vessel Model: Timber southern cray boat

Nightcap,
Welcome, all is not dark when you go from A to B with out having to go also to C, D F and G.
As a Ginger Beer you have the creds to cdonvert a good boat.