hello from Cologne Germany

The friendliest place on the web for anyone who enjoys boating.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

baoputzi

Hi out there,

I am new to this forum and have been reading cross your interesting comments regarding best trawlers for liveaboards etc. I am a single teacher and lecturer teaching math, computer sciences and business sciences for engineers.
I do not own a boat yet but retiring soon - my dream always was to solo sail Norway Fjords and then via Faroer, Iceland, Greenland into the St. Lawrence and up to my son in Montreal and on to the loop and …
Buying a seaworthy trawler in Europe is quite a challenge as for insurance purposes vessels need a CEA certification and the trawler marketed here is poor. The only boats I found are the Elling E4 ( rather expensive around 380k€ ), an Ocean Alexander 423 Classico (~200K)from 1995 with twin 3208 cat, and a 2000 Sabreline 47 (~250K)with twin 3126TA/420hp the Sabreline is CEA certified and in a newish condition - but I don’t know the sailing behaviors nor the behavior while anchored nor do I know anything about fuel consumption etc. All navigation equipment and electrical is pretty new and good stuff (Simrad, foreword scanning sonars etc., Mastervolt Mass Ultra series …But via the world wide web There is only sparse information about this type of boats. It would be great if You have some helpful experience and or info to share.
Thank you in advance and kindest regards from Cologne/Germany
peter

Welcome aboard, Peter! You have some awesome travel plans!