Hello!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone who enjoys boating.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

FHDreamer

Vessel Name
????? TBD....
Vessel Make
Not yet! Looking....
Hello all!
I am a newbie to boating. I have never owned a boat and as such I have joined up to absorb all the knowledge that I can from you more experienced boaters. I have been contemplating living a "Tiny House Lifestyle" for several years and have only just now thought about going tiny onboard a boat instead. I have fallen in love with the Pacific Northwest and in particular the SJI's. I live in Florida so I know nothing about boating in the NW! Looking forward to poking around to see what I can learn. I am up for any suggestions on good books to learn about boating in the NW as well as suggestions on what types of boats are best to live onboard year round in Friday Harbor, WA. Will need to be about 80K tops so used smaller (around 30-40 feet maybe?) modest type boat suggestions would be helpful. Cheers! Mary:flowers:

Welcome aboard, Mary. You have good taste in lifestyles and in locales! Good luck with your boat research. You might check out a custom boat presently listed on Yachtworld.com - "1972 Jensen Custom Trawler Yacht, 35' Friday Harbor." It's located in Yorktown, VA, asking $69K. A beautiful older wooden boat, originally designed by Jay Benford and built for author Ernest K. Gann. I'm tempted myself, but for Florida waters, I long ago foreswore wooden boats. But she'd be right at home in Friday Harbor.

Lots of good boats available in the PNW without the issues of a wood hull or the cost and complexities of shipping. I can understand your love for the area...hope you've been there in the winter to really appreciate it fully.

Will you be cruising solo or is there a Mr. Dreamer?