Hello!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone who enjoys boating.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

millerbb77

Hi Everyone:

Looper hopeful here. Currently in my last 5 years in the Navy before retirement, after which my wife and I are planning on buying a trawler to do the Great Loop and then live on for a while before pursuing further employment.

We currently own a 26' sailboat. I grew up around boats and have been sailing all of my life and have worked as an officer on both merchant and Navy ships, but I have very little experience with trawlers and wanted to glean as much info as I can before diving in in a few short years.

Glad to be here, and looking forward to learning a lot!

Ben Miller

Ben, welcome! I'm rather new to trawlers myself but have found this forum very open and helpful. Have all the confidence your experience will be the same.

Ben, we were all new to trawlers at one point...some of us more recently than others. My leap was from a 19 ft runabout to a trawler. You've got a huge head start with your 26' sailboat.

Welcome to the world where boats look, perform and function differently from one another!! So many choices and so little time!! Let us know where we can help in the decision making process.

Thanks everyone. A little more detail...our budget (projected out 5-6 years, which is our target timeframe for buying) will keep us firmly in the Albin/Marine Trader/CHB market, in order to have enough left to repair/refit and cruise for a year on my retirement income alone. I have read a ton about the issues that are common across these "Taiwan Trawlers," and am fairly confident that I know what to look for as far as problem areas. We both really like the looks of the TTs, so it's a win-win for us.