Old 06-02-2021, 10:23 PM   #1

City: Pullman
Greetings from the Palouse!

Hello!

I am hailing from the beautiful Palouse region of Eastern Washington and Northern Idaho, not far from Hells Canyon where the Snake and Clearwater Rivers converge on their way to the mighty Columbia. I am a native of the Pacific Northwest, but spent over a decade in Florida. The maritime atmosphere is in my blood, and this is the farthest we've ever lived from salt water. I've never owned a boat, but have run power boats of various sizes over the years as a rowing coach and as a corporate pilot (where I assisted my boss' boat captain on occasion...apparently the thinking was if I could fly a jet, I could competently run a Hatteras Sportfish...I'm not sure I agree with that!) but I am far from a pro.

Our desire for a boat comes with a unique mission...to cruise the Snake and Columbia from Lewiston/Clarkston "downhill" towards the coast and make occasional voyages up the Washington coast into Puget Sound. We want a boat that we feel at home on, can have some friends along and is fuel-efficient first and has available power/speed when we need it as a second (especially considering the Columbia River Bar). A trawler, fast trawler or Downeast type boat I think would be perfect for this mission, so here we are! We are here to learn, ask questions and engage. I am still researching permanent accomodations for the boat, but it could be Clarkston, WA; Boyer Park Marina (below Pullman and Colfax, WA); or Kennewick, WA at the confluence of the Snake and Columbia.

We are here humbly and eager to learn and engage!
Palouser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2021, 10:43 PM   #2
Guru

City: Port Townsend, WA
Vessel Name: Traveler
Vessel Model: Cheoy Lee 46 LRC
Welcome aboard! People have made that trip in everything from a C-dory 22 to a Fleming 65. Although I imagine Tony Fleming was way more comfortable than my friend was on his C-dory!