First post - Building Experience

The friendliest place on the web for anyone who enjoys boating.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

bridaus

Vessel Name
Morgan le Fay
Vessel Make
KK 42
Hi there,

I'm a private pilot, boated a bunch when I was young on the Connecticut River, some as an adult but all on less than 20' outboards. I have a 10 year plan to retire and cruise the world.

My very specific question: I have booked a charter in Florida on a GB 42 twin screw. I want to gain experience before I go there to maximize our time relaxing and enjoying ourselves.

I have found a training captain (multiple) here in the Northeast, but I can't find equipment to do training on that is similar size/configuration (over 30 ft, twin engine).

Any suggestions on getting equipment for training that closely matches what I'll be doing in Florida? Again, captain/training isn't the issue, equipment in this region is. I will eventually give in and just take training on what they have, and then whatever the charter wants me to do in Florida will have to cover the rest, but I was really hoping to get some done here. I've searched for rent/charter/training high and low, called a number of people and friends, but nothing yet.

Any/all thoughts appreciated, if you know someone/a business, thanks!

You will have to demonstrate your ability anyway so why not go a little earlier and train on the boat you will use?

You will have to demonstrate your ability anyway so why not go a little earlier and train on the boat you will use?

+1 If that is at all possible, just extend your number of days and spend the first few with the charter folks as they provide instruction. As a pilot, you already have an understanding of what wind and current will do. I have never operated a twin engine boat so I have no idea what the learning curve is for that.

BTW, if you are seriously thinking about "cruising the world", you should be looking at sail rather than power IMO.