Old 06-29-2014, 04:33 AM   #1

City: Carmel, Indiana
Smile Central Indiana

Hi,
I am a newbie on this site. I have been looking for a boat to buy for my wife and I to put out on Lake Michigan from Michigan City Indiana. We have been thinking of making the "Americas Great Loop" someday. I am two years away from retirement but not sure if we will ever get to make the trip due to my health problems. I have been reading about different boats to buy and have become more confused after reading than anything.
I am looking to spend around 30,000.00 for a used boat. We want to spend weekends and vacations on the boat during the summer right now. We live 2 1/2 hours from Michigan City. If you
have any suggestions for us please feel free to email me.
Thanks
TerrySturgeon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2014, 05:05 AM   #2
Guru

City: Hotel, CA
Welcome. Starting out is daunting. Spend your time looking at and getting aboard as many boats as you can in your price range. Look for your likes and dislikes.

Make sure your partner is with you and listen carefully to what she has to say. There's a lot of boats sitting around because the wife didn't like it.

Do not concern yourself with brand names, boat types or any of that jazz right now. The great loop can and has been done in almost every type of vessel.

Depending upon the health issues keep your mobility in mind. Our boats previous owners had health/mobility issues happen so sold our boat and purchased a single level houseboat that was more accommodating to their needs.

Most of all, boating is a pleasurable activity and shopping for one should also be. Have fun and don't make it a burden. Good luck and happy hunting.

It's easier to fool people than to convince them that they've been fooled - Mark Twain
CPseudonym is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2014, 06:06 AM   #3