Best Trawler for <$100k-$125k?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone who enjoys boating.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

nJAYneer

Vessel Name
The Search is On!
Vessel Make
Recommendations <45' & <$125k
Hello. I have been pouring over listings on Yachtworld for 18 months from my home office in Minneapolis. Have read a ton of posts here. Understanding the best first boat for me is quite challenging. My wife and I want to live on it for extended periods of time in FL and the Caribbean. Hoping for something in the 42'-48' range. Looking for advise from this knowledge base...some of the boats that have captured my attention:

88' Jefferson 45/48. More of a MY than a trawler. Running gear not protected. Love the huge sundeck. Not sure about quality.

87' Tollycraft 44. Love the cockpit, but would like a bit more space in master. Runny gear not protected.

mid 80s Defever 44. Similar to the Jefferson, but is a true trawler with keel, protected running gear, Lehman. No aft cockpit...top end of budget.

mid 80s Defever 44+5. This seems to combine the best of above three. But, would need to find more money.

mid-80s Chris-Craft / Californian / Hi-Star 48. These are like larger Tollycrafts. Not sure of the quality of build.

Marine Traders: Most listings seem to be not well maintained.

1. Strong seaworthy hull (solid glass?) capable of safe coastal cruising and extended trips throughout the Caribbean. Cruising speeds of ~8knts is ok. Also looking for comfort both at sea and at anchor.

2. Economical diesel engine/engines where a reasonably smart and handy person can perform most (or all) maintenance to keep them running great. I hear Lehman's fit the bill. Any other suggestions?

3. Good livable layout with plenty of outdoor space. Lower helm is desired. Love the sundecks but many traditional trawlers (GB) don't really have a great sundeck version. Seems like the MY tend to have those.