Old 08-06-2014, 02:53 PM   #1

City: Propriano
Best quality/workmanship build trawler

Hello
I am new to the "motor boat" world, moving from sailing to motoring (age and related physical fitness being the reasons)
I am used to high quality build, like the Nauticat or Halberg-Rassy in Europe.
I want to buy a trawler in the 40 footer range (two people aboard most of the time), and wish to know about the best quality build trawler. . .
I have been told about Nordic tugs, Kadey Krogen, Nordhaven,...
Any one wanting to share his view and reasons with me?
thanls
Le Malouin
LeMalouin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2014, 03:54 PM   #2
Guru

City: Beaverton, Ontario
Vessel Name: Looking Glass
Vessel Model: Carver 370 Voyager
Welcome to the forum Le Malouin. Can't help with your question as I have never owned a high end trawler. One that I perceive as being high end is Selene on top of the ones you have mentioned. I think it also depends on how you will use it and do you really need high end. With unlimited funds I might buy one to but the lottery hasn't been nice to me. Enjoy the forum.
Old 08-06-2014, 04:16 PM   #3
Valued Technical Contributor

City: Litchfield, Ct
Nordhavn is built to be able to do long distance blue water passages. That means it has equipment and systems that are way beyond what is required for normal coastal cruising and are wasted if that is all you want to do.

The others mentioned above are of a similar quality level as the Halberg Rassy. And some like the Kady Krogen can be suitable for blue water cruising with some modifications.

But I would never want to use a non-ballasted trawler (which includes the Nordic Tug) on a long distance, blue water passage. But for a coastal or near coastal cruiser, the Nordic Tug is a great boat.

It all depends on what you want to do with the boat.

David
DavidM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2014, 06:44 PM   #4
Veteran Member

City: Dania Beach
Vessel Name: Cool Beans