Ahoy - Aspiring to be a Nordic Tug owner

The friendliest place on the web for anyone who enjoys boating.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Breezin

Vessel Name
Tortuga
Vessel Make
Nordic Tug 37
Ahoy,
After a lifetime (up to now) of sailing, I am ready to "graduate" to a trawler. My wife and I have been roaming the Chesapeake Bay under sail for 15 years and while we enjoy sailing, we enjoy exploring even more. Due to the vagaries of weather, we find ourselves motoring more and more to visit destinations. It's not that we're in a hurry - six knots is just fine.

We have made lists (even spreadsheets) of must-haves, nice-to-haves, and don't-wants. We know how and where we would use a new (to us) boat. In reading various posts on this forum, I found valuable advice that's helped us organize our search and we've found a few boats that "check all the boxes."

We're going to take a second look at a used Nordic Tug 37 that's listed in our area. Does anyone know of any issues unique to Nordic Tugs I should be alerted to?

Welcome Aboard!

We were looking at Nordic Tugs as well during our search.

Not sure if you have come across Helmsman Trawlers, but take a look at their 38 model.

AdmiralS: We have looked at the Helmsman Trawlers and love the 38E, but the new ones are out of our price range and its predecessors, the Mariner 37, are hard to find.

AdmiralS: We have looked at the Helmsman Trawlers and love the 38E, but the new ones are out of our price range and its predecessors, the Mariner 37, are hard to find.
Indeed, while a number of 38's have been built they don't pop up too often.

There have been a number that have popped up over the last few months and they are usually sold within the week. Always keep an eye on the Helmsman website that lists them, as well as Waterline boats which usually handles the brokerage of them.