Alaska Fishing Lodges

The friendliest place on the web for anyone who enjoys boating.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

RonR

Guru
Vessel Name
Triton
Vessel Make
48' Golden Egg Harbor
The wife and I are interested in an Alaska fishing lodge trip next summer.
Anyone have any tips? Or any places that you have been and liked? Looking to go for 5-7 days, two of us. Mostly interested in Halibut fishing.
I hear Homer is a good place as well as Kodiak. But the on-line adds are many to choose from. Looking for the full meal deal to include lodging and food, prefer a guided boat as I am no pro at catching fish.

There are guide and lodge operations in Pelican, SE AK. Lots of halibut there, and big.

I second the remote fishing lodges. I've lived in Homer, Seward, fished out of Kodiak for a few trips. If you have it narrowed down to those 3 areas though I'd choose Seward, Kodiak or Homer in that order.

I second the remote fishing lodges. I've lived in Homer, Seward, fished out of Kodiak for a few trips. If you have it narrowed down to those 3 areas though I'd choose Seward, Kodiak or Homer in that order.

Thank you, I have worked in Seward and Kodiak, fished Kodiak about 18 years ago. But the lodge we went to then is now a private home. There are so many choices.

I can't point you to a specific outfit, but I second (third?) the Cross Sound area - Elfin Cove, Elfin/Pelican/Hoonah general area. Only drawback is you are pretty much confined to the lodge experience there, unlike Homer or Seward or Sitka or the like where you have opportunity to do other touristy things.

If you're not by chance into the floatplane thing, I know a couple outfits up there will pick up/drop you off in Gustavus by boat for an Alaskan flight.

Last edited:
You might check out Pybus Point Lodge, about 75 miles south of Juneau. I have never stayed at the lodge but have been there on our boat, and it's beautiful country and good halibut fishing in the area.