Old 08-03-2018, 10:50 PM   #1

City: sunshine coast
Vessel Name: Alastair B
Vessel Model: 40' classic trawler
fuel valves and fuel tanks

I have a 1982 trawler with twin 120 lehmans. Im new to the boat. All my fuel valves are in open flow position including splash return valves. when I dip tanks its always port tank that consumes fuel. I can motor say 12 hours and starboard tanks may be down an inch, port tank down 5 inches, this is from both tanks full and measured. Were these tanks not designed with a crossover valve. Is this common. Thanks for opinions.
geoshep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2018, 12:04 AM   #2
Guru

City: hawaii
Vessel Name: #31
Vessel Model: ex-Navy MUB 50 fish/cruise
We can’t see what you can, so you need to determine if you do have a crossover line, and if it is open and large enough to be functional.
Return fuel usually finds a “favorite”route, that of least resistance, so when both return valves are open, it still only feeds to the favored tank.
What are splash valves? Does the boat have a spill containment system at the filler? If so, I’d say that’s a really good thing to have!
Old 08-04-2018, 06:44 AM   #3
Guru

City: Boston
Vessel Name: Adelante
Vessel Model: IG 30
You didn't mention the manufacturer of your boat but I suspect most did install small dia crossover lines with a valve. It may take a number of hours for the tanks to balance. I would make a diagram of the feed and return lines. Sounds like both engines are returning to the starboard tank. Or the port return line is pinched.
SoWhat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2018, 06:04 PM   #4

City: sunshine coast
Vessel Name: Alastair B
Vessel Model: 40' classic trawler
Fuel valves and tanks

Ty for your replies. It’s a Ocean Alexander 40 ft. All fuel lines look to be in great condition and all valves open. I do believe that yes perhaps fuel return splash is returning to starboard tank. Why I have no idea.