Yee Haw No More 8Ds on ASD!!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone who enjoys boating.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.
Vessel Name
Alaskan Sea-Duction
Vessel Make
1988 M/Y Camargue YachtFisher
My last 8D died this morning! Port side. I hate these batteries as it is a chore to take them out of the battery box, drag them over the engine room, up to the galley, up to the salon, across the sun deck, down to the cockpit and over the rail to the dock. Just sucks.

So I replaced it with 2 group 31 HD batteries. I replaced the STBD batteries 2 years ago and are working great. No more watering. These are ONLY start batteries and are not hooked up to a charger. No need too as I run the engines once a week for an hour or so during the winter.

I did however take a couple of Aleve for the ol' back! :thumb::thumb:

@ AS-D: As a practicing marine electrician I have made it my goal in life to eliminate every single 8D battery that I discover on boats. Thank you for supporting my cause!

@ AS-D: As a practicing marine electrician I have made it my goal in life to eliminate every single 8D battery that I discover on boats. Thank you for supporting my cause!

I am with you brother!!!:whistling::D

On a previous boat we had 5 8Ds. The battery boxes were glassed into the hull and were very stout. The really bad thing was that you had to crouch and pick the 8Ds up to the overhead and then sideways into the boxes. Talk about a PITA. I had some delivered to the boat and asked the live aboard next door to take delivery for me. He asked if I wanted him to install them. I asked how much and he said $100. I told him that he had to lift them up to the overhead, etc. He still wanted to do it so I said ok. Best $100 I ever spent.