Old 09-25-2019, 08:54 AM   #1

City: Goldsboro NC
Vessel Name: Voyager
Vessel Model: 41' PT Europa
Electronics help needed

I’m in the process of updating my electronics. I have a Raymarine Smartpilot autopilot that works great, so I’m not replacing it.
I plan to install a AIS transceiver and I think I want a Garmin 9” or 12” chart plotter. Do I understand correctly that with some of the Garmin units I can display and control the chart plotter from an ipad and use the iPad when operating from the lower station?

I’m confused about the VHF?
I want one VHF radio with remote mike capability( hardwired or wireless?)and all the nice bells and whistles like intercom, hailer,etc., but is there any advantage of buying a radio with a AIS receiver if I have a AIS
Transceiver connected to the chart plotter?
What are you experienced guys using and happy with?
Any recommendations as to a good setup is appreciated, since I have no experience with AIS , wi-fi chart plotters or VHF radios with remote mics.
Thanks in advance for your recommendations.
Propnut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2019, 09:00 AM   #2

City: Stony Point, NY
Vessel Name: VARKA
Vessel Model: Helmsman Trawlers 43 PH
You can view the Chartplotter on a tablet or phone, but I would not recomend or rely on that as a primary form of chartplotting at that station. It lags sometimes and has connectivity issues.

There is no benefit of getting an AIS VHF if you plan on installing the AIS black Box. The transceiver connected to the NMEA 2000 network that is interfaced with the plotter.

Speaking of the autopilot, if you plan on going Garmin consider it a standalone AutoPilot that does heading hold. Garmin Chartplotters only play nicely with Garmin Autopilots which allow there advanced waypoint and auto guidance routing.
AdmiralS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2019, 09:07 AM   #3
Guru

City: San Diego
Vessel Name: Circuit Breaker
Vessel Model: 2021..22' Duffy Cuddy cabin
Quote: