Removing 3 phase power onboard

The friendliest place on the web for anyone who enjoys boating.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

GoneDiving

I'm looking at removing 3 phase supply from my trawler by converting an engine room fan (easy) and an electric over hydraulic windlass to single phase.

For the windlass, I'm undecided between fitting a single phase motor with softstart or retaining the 3 phase motor but fitting a 230 to 380v VFD.

Costs for both options are about the same.

My large dive compressor at home has run for years using a 1 to 3 phase vfd but that's not in a marine environment. I have no experience with the reliability of soft starts.

Has anyone run either in a marine environment? Comments?

Thanks

I have 2 soft starts using 110 volt DC, they seem to work fine. Been on the boat long before I got it.

Ted

I have two machines in my shop that run VFD to get 3ph 240 out of 1ph 240. Been very reliable. They are not in marine environment, but looking at their construction they should be fine on a boat, as long as they are put in a dry location.

On mine, the soft start feature only works if operated from the local control. If you start the motor by switching at output cable, it zings right up to whatever rpm it is set to. Also if input power is interrupted, you have to turn the thing on locally. That's just the way my units are, other types might be different.

How is the 3 phase power produced and at what voltage as it is now?

How is the 3 phase power produced and at what voltage as it is now?

3 phase is currently produced by a 30kva diesel generator.
AC voltages on board are 230vac single phase, 400vac three phase at 50hz. I'm in Australia so no US style split phase.

The only 3phase equipment is the 7.5kw elec/hyd windlass and 0.75kw ER fan.

Cheers

Last edited: