Old 05-15-2013, 11:00 PM   #1

City: Victoria BC
Vessel Name: LUCKY US
Vessel Model: American Tug
Question for the electricians

Tonight I helped a friend instal an out drive on his searay. The boat is on the hard and when I bumped my arm against is other prop I felt voltage!

I got out my meter and shoved the negative in the dirt and positive to the prop and saw 50 volts ac. My buddy started turning off breakers looking to see it disappear. With everything off but the main it dropped to 22v. Turned off the main and it dropped to 6v. I'm suspecting the shore power plug but could use some guidance. I'm stumped!

Thoughts?
jukesy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2013, 11:35 PM   #2
Guru

City: Hailing Port: Charleston, SC
Vessel Name: Moonstruck
Vessel Model: Sabre 42 Hardtop Express
I am not an electrician, but in addition to the shore power plug, I would check the generator/shore power switch. Also if there is an inverter, turn it off. It could bleed off AC from the batteries. Whatever you do, don't put it in the water until this is sorted out. There is enough power there to kill a swimmer or diver. Unplug the shore power. Good luck.
https://moonstruckblog.wordpress.com/
Moonstruck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2013, 11:38 PM   #3

Thanks moonstruck. No gen and no inverter.
Old 05-15-2013, 11:47 PM   #4
Guru

City: Gibsons, B.C., Canada
Vessel Name: Island Pride
Vessel Model: Palmer 32'
It could also be the marine or yard that is the problem. years ago a friend had a similar problem and realized it was the supply from the yard. He got sipped when crawling around beneath the boat and bumped the props.

When I unplugged the shore power cord and went from cord ground to real ground there was about 40 volts which meant the yard was the problem.

Don't assume it is the boat.