I'm not an electrician, but I'm not stupid either...

The friendliest place on the web for anyone who enjoys boating.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

rgano

Guru
Vessel Name
FROLIC
Vessel Make
Mainship 30 Pilot II since 2015. GB-42 1986-2015. Former Unlimited Tonnage Master
I have experienced two episodes of smoked up boats as a result of burned electrical insulation. It takes a surprisingly small amount of burning insulation to fill the air with acrid white smoke.

The first was on my own boat when my Nextgen 12-volt cooling fan motor seized shorting the unfused wiring an burning up the entire wiring harness of the generator. The new factory fresh wiring harness came with a fuse in the fan wiring. Go figure - installation error. And I understand that Nextgen people did the installations of these units on Mainships built in St Augustine just down the road from their HQA in Jax.

More recently on another boat I was on, a pump motor seized causing another insulation fire. I have no idea who installed this system, but there was a four-slot fuse block at the 12-Volt source in the ER with heavy gauge wiring (8AWG, I think) leading off to three users (Vacuflush, reefer, and unknown), all with 40-Amp fuses.

Yes, I know the fuses are to protect the wiring, but after 20 feet or so of wandering around, the heavy gauge positive lead for the head terminated in a series of ham-fisted tees to accommodate a now-removed macerator pump and an on/off switch for the Vacuflush in the head directly above. The positive and negative wiring for the vacuum generator's pump motor was of a lesser gauge and was the wiring which burned up. It seems to me that the re should have been a fuse at this transition (Vacuflush recommends a 10-Amp fuse). It has been argued to me that since the big wire was properly connected and that if the short run from the power distribution wire was less than 7 inches, ABYC requires no fuse.