Electronics Mfg PC software

The friendliest place on the web for anyone who enjoys boating.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

timjet

Guru
I have both Raymarine's Voyage Planner software and Garmin's Homeport software that are designed to allow route planning on your PC and then have the capability of transferring those routes to your Plotter.

Since I have two plotters made by different companies thankfully both companies software allow routes to be saved in the universally accepted GPX format along with their propriety format. This allows one to create a route in one program and be able to be read by the other. Also a route can be created in one program and using the GPX format then be converted and uploaded into both plotters without the necessity of creating the same route in both programs.

Does anyone have experience with these two programs, Garmin's Homeport and Raymarine's Voyage Planner?

I'm just learning Raymarine's program and it seems amateurish compared to Garmin's. Raymarine's program also seems to have a limit of 50 waypts per route when saving in the GPX format.

Just wondering what you guys think.:ermm:

Also for you guys who have a primary and backup plotter made by two different companies do you plot your routes separately in each plotter or their associated PC software, essentially a duplication of effort. :facepalm:

I use Garmin's "HomePort" a lot. I plan my trips in advance, then upload them to my Garmin plotters. This makes it pretty easy to stay on course and out of shallow water. I can hand off the helm to my wife and she knows to follow the orange line.

I'm going to say this now before somebody calls me on it: She and I both know to believe what we actually see over what the plotter says.

I not only plot the course, I plot marinas and possible anchorages so we know how far away we are and so we don't accidentally pass them by.

I have no other brand of plotter or software.

Thanks Ron,