Battery Cable Butt Connectors

The friendliest place on the web for anyone who enjoys boating.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.
Were I used to work as an engineer we used Molex connectors and had crimp machines. I had to teach operators how to inspect their work so I got the guide (because I didn't know squat about it).
I have a copy of their crimping guide which had some nice illustrations of what good and bad crimps look like.
While I do not really want to post it here I will send the file to anyone interested .
They only go up to size 8 wire but the principles are still the same.
Send me your e mail addy in a PM if interested.

@Barking Sands #54

The better crimp is the box crimp whereas the crimping dies are either hexagonal or are round in shape. This type of crimping die produces much more uniform contact area in the ring terminal barrel. The 12 ton quality built (not an eBay knock off), hydraulic crimper that I use compresses the tinned wire so tightly that I cannot see the interstitials between the individual strands with the naked eye.

Regarding welding cable:
1. I have removed many, many feet of failed welding cable from 80's vintage Chinese and Taiwanese built boats.
2. For those of you that care about the voluntaryABYC Standards and the liability the equipment installer assumes by not adhering to these minimum standards, here is an excerpt from the ABYC Electrical Standard:
11.14.1.2.1. Conductors and flexible cords shall have a minimum rating of the nominal system voltage.
11.14.1.2.1.1 The construction of insulated cables and conductors shall conform with the requirements of:
11.14.1.2.1.1.1 UL 1426, Cables for Boats, or
11.14.1.2.1.1.2 the insulating material temperature rating requirements of:
11.14.1.2.1.1.2.1 SAE J378, Marine Engine Wiring, and
11.14.1.2.1.1.2.2 SAE J1127, Battery Cable, or SAE J1128, Low-Tension Primary Cable.