Basic Perko issue

The friendliest place on the web for anyone who enjoys boating.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Sunset

Vessel Name
Manatee
Vessel Make
1976 Albin 25 DeLuxe
I am new to my boat, new to battery switches and the need for a house battery. But I have been reading some of the battery and electrical threads and I believe I have some sense of what is supposed to be what under the deck. So here's the thing:

The boat has a newish-looking Perko switch with thick red cables leading into it from each battery (starter and 115 AH house). However, whether the switch is on 1 (to start) or Off, all the house lights and other aux. items function. So if some passenger flicks a light switch, it will stay on until I notice it or the batts die.:eek:

Am I right in suspecting someone got the switch install all wrong? :confused:

When in the off position, the only low voltage things that should work are the bilge pumps.

Sounds like someone messed with the wiring. Either they have wired the lights and accessories directly to the battery or wired the battery directly to the busbar on the electrical panel. There are any number of ways to do this, if not familiar with marine electrical.

Start at the battery and make sure the cables go directly to the battery switch. Normally, the only other wires connected on the battery posts should go directly to the bilge pumps or possibly the bilge pump switch, but not to anything else on the electrical panel. You may have to trace them out to confirm thats what's happening.

If you can't find it, have someone who knows marine electrical check it out.

Larry B

Last edited:
If I wasn't 100% comfortable analyzing, modifying and maintaining the electrical system, I'd call in a professional for the job. It will provide countless hours of worry-free sleep. And if he lets you work side-by-side, maybe you'll learn more about your new boat!