Another Battery question

The friendliest place on the web for anyone who enjoys boating.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Obx

I have been schooled since I asked the 1st question on where to get a deal on a 8D battery,
Here is additional info and a question:: MY 89 42ft GB has 3208 TA's in it, the PO installed 8D GEL batteries in it for starting.
1 of the batteries is bad. I see that info is coming in talking about "make sure the charging system can charge GEL batteries".

My 3208 have the alternator that came when they were installed so if I go back with GEL or AGM am I messing up? also do the starting batteries get any other charge from anywhere or are they only charged when they are running.

I'm a newbie so I'm not familiar with the electrical system.
thanks

I will never understand why people us 8D's for start batteries. A group 31 is more than enough in most cases. Check the manual.

I use 8Ds for main starts and genset too. LAs though. Buy them cheap, battery boxes in place and great ballast. They have a separate charger from the inverter bank. Do the 8Ds make sense? Probably not but they sure do the job and redoing them to satisfy pundits isn't worthwhile.

I've had premature failures of all battery types. Gel and AGM are sensitive to charging voltage. If the charging sources regulators do not specify GEL charging profiles, then very good chance of early death by overcharging.

also do the starting batteries get any other charge from anywhere or are they only charged when they are running.

Are the engine alternators the only charging source for your start batteries? Or do they also get charged by a separate charger too? These are key questions, much depends on (your) boat and how it was set up... so you'll likely have to figure that out before proceeding.

If latter, then probably more info required to understand the rest of your system. If former, then...