Old 07-31-2011, 07:39 PM   #1

Trailerable Trawler

Hello all,

I'm a newbie to the trawler scene. *The more I read about trawlers, the more the wife and I want one. *We have owned our 22 Sea Ray Sundancer for 3 years now and feel it's time to upgrade. *

We have been boating for 3 years now in the Palm Beach to Stuart area. *Our boating consists of cruising the ICW and stopping at restaraunts, sandbars, and offshore fishing in 2 feet or less seas. *We would also like to go to the Bahamas, and the FL Keys. *Occasional overnight or two.

I'm looking for the biggist trawler that can be trailered. *Here in Florida, DOT/Police don't go after the 11 ft beam boats on trailers on the roads. *Please don't push the law on this subject. * I'm a DIY type of guy and like to keep my toys close by so I can keep up with the maintenance. *I don't trust others to do maintenace, etc... I know keeping the boat at a slip would be ALOT easier but I can't afford paying 3-500 bucks. *Besides, I'd rather use the slip fee for fuel.

Must haves:

Single Engine (prefer diesel), gen set, a/c, cabin, displacement, or semi-displacement hull, wife wants a nice cozy cabin.*

So far we BOTH like the MAINSHIP 30 PILOT. *Not sure how high it would be on a custom trailer though. *Don't want to go over 13' high. *Anyone ever trailer this boat? *

Not sure what else I need to detail to get the most out of this forum. *Any help in this subject would be greatly appreciated. *Hope to learn from you all and joine the trawler family. *Thanks!!

Luis
lmannyr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2011, 07:50 PM   #2
Guru

City: Atlanta
Vessel Model: Bayliner 4550 Pilothouse
RE: Trailerable Trawler

Look at Ranger Tugs, C Dory, and the mainship pilots (which you already mentioned). All 3 great boats. you may also want to look at some of the small power catamarans. Their fuel economy, even though they typically have 2 small outboards, can often very much rival that of a trawler.