St. Johns River Fishing

The friendliest place on the web for anyone who enjoys boating.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

HopCar

Guru
Vessel Name
Possum
Vessel Make
Ellis 28
I just returned from my annual Shad fishing trip on the St. Johns River.
My friends Darrell, Bill and I have been doing this every year for about ten years now. This year Snapper joined us.

We stay in a cabin in Blue Springs State Park. Nice cabin with heat, a kitchen, bathroom, three beds and a pullout sofa for about a hundred bucks a night.

We took two boats this year. An 18 foot bay boat with poling platform and 70 hp Yamaha. We also took the little 13 foot skiff that Snapper and I recently completed. The skiff is powered by a Lehr 15 hp propane outboard. We've named it Lehr Jet.

We drove up to Blue Springs from Miami on Monday, grabbed some dinner at our favorite Italian place, bought our groceries and booze that night.

Tuesday we drove to The Jolly Gator on St Road 46 and launched both boats. The river was about four feet higher than I've ever seen it! We usually head south from the Jolly Gator in the morning and then turn up the Econlockhatchee River (the Econ).

We missed the mouth of the Econ as everything looked different because of the high water. There was water where normally there are cows, very confusing.

To catch the elusive American Shad we troll little jigs and spoons, While looking for the Econ, I hooked and fought a good sized shad. He released himself at the side of the boat. This turned out to be the only fish of the trip.

We found the Econ and started heading up stream. We always catch Large Mouth and Sunshine Bass in the Econ, not this time. Didn't matter, the Econ is beautiful and wild.