Old 06-11-2014, 07:51 AM   #1
Guru

Anchorages lower Biscayne Bay to Marathon

We're headed north from Key West on Thursday and are looking for some anchorages on our way north. Our plan now is to stay at Boot Key Harbor for a night or two then head north on the ICW (inside route) to Biscayne Bay. I'm new to the upper Keys and am looking for some good anchorages.

I have 2 constraints;
1. I need to have a place to dinghy ashore for the dog, in the morning and in the evening.
2. Bugs, we were eaten up by bugs off Indian Key in the Everglades even with a strong SW wind.

After Boot Key we were thinking of anchoring in Cowpens Anchorage off Plantation Key and hit the Marker 88 restaurant. There should be a place to get the dog off there.

40 miles north of Cowpens should put us in lower Biscayne Bay or Card Sound. Card Should looks nice but it doesn't appear there are many places to go ashore and it has been reported as buggy.

Then that should put us in the Biscayne Bay area early in the week and avoid the Cuban Navy which is active on the weekends.

Suggestions please.
timjet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2014, 09:08 AM   #2
Guru

City: Sarasota/Ft. Lauderdale
Take a look at No Name Harbor on the South end of Key Biscayne in Bill Baggs State Park. And the anchorage at the Marine Stadium on Virgina Key.
Capt.Bill11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2014, 09:28 AM   #3
Guru

City: Hailing Port: Charleston, SC
Vessel Name: Moonstruck
Vessel Model: Sabre 42 Hardtop Express
Tim, Rodriguez Key is a marginal anchorage area. Depending on wind direction. It is a long dinghy ride to shore for , but restaurants doable. I have anchored there. It was good holding in about 7' depth. There are really only a few anchorages that I have found on Hawk Channel. Boca Chita Key if you are there during a week day is a good tie up with no services, but I don't think pets are welcomed. Elliot Key can be good if the wind is right.

Please give us a trip report with pics.