Old 01-26-2020, 09:16 PM   #1

City: Rockledge Florida
Prairie 46

Hello everyone newbie here. My first post. I am currently looking at a vessel being advertised as a 81 Atlantic prairie 46. Iíve been told by someone who seems ďin the knowď that it couldnít be an Atlantic because of its age. The boat does display the prairie but works logo. I see a lot on the 29ís and the 36s I see little to nothing on a 46. The boat is outfitted with six cylinder Perkins, Bow thrusters and stabilizer system. My question is Anybody familiar with this model vessel that can give some wisdom & insight.
See attached photo of manufacture placard
Attached Thumbnails
13CBF640-54E1-4BF2-BEE1-5BD20AB6E319.jpg  

dibiman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2020, 09:22 AM   #2
Guru

City: Southern Maine
Vessel Model: Prairie 36 Coastal Cruiser
Wow, I'd never heard of a 46 either.

That's the same manufacturer's plate I have, except mine says 36. Yours is hull #6, so I guess they made at least that many 46's. Could be it was built during the change-over, and so was built as a Prairie but sold as an Atlantic.

Let us know what you find out, I'd love to learn more about my boat's "big sister."

CaptTom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2020, 09:35 AM   #3
Guru

City: Cape May, NJ and Englewood, FL
Vessel Name: Irish Lady
Vessel Model: Monk 36
Looks like a 44 with 2 feet added to the aft cabin during manufacturing.
1984 Monk 36 Hull #46
Currently in Englewood Florida.
High Wire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2020, 10:16 AM   #4
Guru

City: Satsuma FL/Daytona Beach Shores
Vessel Name: No Mo Trawla
Vessel Model: Hurricane SS188
Welcome aboard!

Nice to see a poster from my home town.
Old 01-27-2020, 11:09 AM   #5

Quote:
Originally Posted by High Wire View Post
Looks like a 44 with 2 feet added to the aft cabin during manufacturing.
Thatís is interesting
Old 01-27-2020, 11:11 AM   #6

You are from Cocoa/Rockledge?! Small world! Where are you now? Do you own a Prairie?