Atlantic 44 by Prairie boat works

The friendliest place on the web for anyone who enjoys boating.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Mulelover

Hi everyone,newbie here, first post. Have owned a Prairie 36 for two years. I keep hearing about a larger boat built at the same time called an Atlantic 44. Can anyone tell me about it? Designer,specs,pics, any for sale,pros and cons, etc. Thanks

Welcome aboard. You might look at Powerboat Guide for the specs.

Welcome!

If you're interested, I've been trying to maintain a Prairie/Atlantic Owners List. The idea is that anyone who wants to be on it gets a copy. Just fill in the fields you're comfortable sharing with other owners, and PM to me. I'll add you to the list and send you a copy. The list is only shared with other owners, never published anywhere.

Here are all the fields available:
Boat Name:
Owner(s) Name(s):
Owner e-Mail:
Owner Phone(s):
Home Port:
Trawler Forum ID:
AGLCA ID:
Cruising Plans:
Vessel Year:
Vessel Model:
Vessel Hull #:
Engine(s):
Generator:
Vessel MMSI:

Hi Mulelover,
I owned a 1981 44' Atlantic from 2001 to 2007. Hargrave design and essentially the same as the 43Hatteras double cabin. Great sea boat and cruiser. Ours had 120hp Perkins 6.354's which were very economical. Many came with 3208 Cats and could get up and plane. Tons of room in salon and aft cabin. Galley down configuration. I reworked the forward sleeping acomodations into a queen size berth.

Ours had 2 wing tanks of 150 gals each and a central bilge tank of 300 gals. Check all for leaks if older boat, especially the wing tanks. Engine room very spacious and room although tight to get all around engines. Kneeling headroom in engine compartment.

If equipped with a hardtop with radar arch check for soft spots. We had no issues with decks or hull in that regard. Portlights may need rebeding as ours leaked.