Old 01-22-2021, 01:38 PM   #1

City: Oak Harbor, WA
Prop "locked" when out of water?

Maybe this is a common thing, but I didn't find any prior posts on this and I am a newbie to trawlers. I pulled my boat out the end of October for some work, and was noticing the other day that the propellers feel like they were locked... at least I couldn't turn by hand (and the transmissions were in neutral). They had turned relatively easily in the water before pulling the boat out. Felt a few other props in the yard and they were all tight/locked as well. So was just wondering if this was normal, and when you initially put back into water, should you wait a bit for packing to absorb water? Should you loosen packing in the yard beforehand so that you can turn the prop dry? Maybe pre-wet packing? Perhaps there is some procedure to follow once back in the water before initially putting into gear? Thanks for any comments.
TrawlerTed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2021, 01:57 PM   #2
Guru

City: Gibsons, B.C., Canada
Vessel Name: Island Pride
Vessel Model: Palmer 32'
Assuming you were correct that the gear box is in neutral.
A mechanical gear must be put into neutral by you. A hydraulic gearbox will always be in neutral any time the engine is not running even if the control was left in gear.

However, there will still be some drag from a gear box although it should be light.
THe other sources of drag are the stuffing box AND the cutless bearing at the shaft end near the propeller.

One way to check is mix a soapy solution and spray the cutless bearing. It should lighten up. Water is a lubricant and that is how the cutless survives.
Sometimes a cutless can delaminate or swell grabbing the shaft.

Of course any engine/shaft misalignment will add to drag.
C lectric is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2021, 02:00 PM   #3
STB
Guru

City: Gulf coast