Porthole bedding?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone who enjoys boating.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

ERTF

Have a couple leaky port holes. Is this a butyl tape job? Or caulking? What specific sealant is recommended?

I do have Loctite Marine onboard, but I can go get something else if that's too aggressive.

Attachments

• 20210222_182113.jpg
    20210222_182113.jpg
    52.8 KB · Views: 25
I am no expert on sealants but I agree with Bacchus. I use butyl tape whenever possible. I will also second Compass Marine for the articles and the quality of the butyl tape.

I’ve always used Sika-Flex.
Bedding compound 291

Just did all of mine. After hours of wrestling to get the previous "bedding" off - it's butyl for me.

Make sure you allow for squeeze out (photo below) for a day or two before fully tightening down and trimming off the excess.

While they are out, it's a good opportunity to epoxy-seal the inner bulkhead/core to make it fully water-tight. (photo)

Attachments

• 20201025_134702 (Small).jpg
    20201025_134702 (Small).jpg
    80.6 KB · Views: 27
  • 20201024_141953 (Small).jpg
    20201024_141953 (Small).jpg
    59.9 KB · Views: 27
All items with bedding need to be redone on a PM basis.

"After hours of wrestling to get the previous "bedding" off - it's butyl for me."

Agree the hard part is cleaning the old compound off .

We use Dolphinite , an ancient product that works well, and fits any size flange or base.

Scraped off easily with a chisel , wipes clean with most any solvent , and you are ready to reinstall. A bit of compound on the bolts or screws is easy to do.

A half hour job should not take a half a day, avoid 5200.

Last edited:
Just did all of mine. After hours of wrestling to get the previous "bedding" off - it's butyl for me.

Make sure you allow for squeeze out (photo below) for a day or two before fully tightening down and trimming off the excess.