Oxidation - Copper Base Bottom Paint

The friendliest place on the web for anyone who enjoys boating.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

nhislander

Veteran Member
Vessel Name
No Regrets
Vessel Make
Swift Trawler 44
I purchased a new Beneteau ST-44 in January. Used the boat for just four months in SW-FL then hauled the boat for the summer (during hurricane season).

I am now back in FL eager to get the boat back in the water... but have heard that copper based bottom paint oxidizes (stops working...) when out of the water for an extend period of time (in my case 6 months)... and that to "reactivate" the paint I need to either sand (or pressure wash) the bottom paint before re-launching? I called the boat yard that did the new/first bottom job and they used:
1 - Barrier Coat = Sea hawk "Tuff Stuff"
2 - Bottom Paint = two coats of Pettit Trinidad 75 – Copper based paint

I am new to the bottom paint world... so any advice would be appreciated. Is it true that simply pressure washing the bottom just before launching will do the trick? Or do I need to sand the bottom?

Here is some info that I found online.

Some of our best performing antifouling paints in our past tests have been hard, modified epoxy paints. One of the drawbacks of these paints is that they can lose their effectiveness after being hauled out and stored ashore for more than 30 days. Even newly painted hulls can lose their effectiveness if the launch is delayed too long. Fortunately, there are ways to reactivate a hard paint on a newly painted boat that has been stored ashore for less than a year.