Old 07-14-2020, 10:59 AM   #1
Veteran Member

City: Millarville
Vessel Name: Phase III
Vessel Model: Mariner 35' Seville
Need hot water!

Hello Everyone!
Hoping to pick the mighty brains of Trawler forum.
My wife and I, as a team, are new to ocean boating. I have a few years of experience, however my wife not so much. For the past 2 years, she has really taken to boating, however her one wish would be; to have hot water for more than 1 1/2 days when on the hook.
Our trawler has the following;
- Force 10 (411011 model) hot water heater. Water is heated through engine coolant lines when running or when on shore power.
- New Espar (large, but sorry no model number)
- there is a water to water heat exchanger in the lower part of the hull of the boat, with in and out lines coming from both the Espar and the Force 10. There is no recirculating pump on the hot water side so I am assume the water just passively flows through?? Either way in the winter with Espar running to heat cabin, the water does not get hot with this method.

My 2 options;
1) Use two 3way valves to tap into the coolant lines coming from the engine at the hot water tank. Connect these to the two Espar lines going to the heat exchanger in the lower part of the hull, thus taking the heat exchanger out of the “mix”. The fans on the fan coil units can be turned off so we aren’t heating the cabin during summer time. This method would allow us three different methods of heating water; shore power/ engine/ Espar
2) Put a small recirculating pump on the hot water side of the small heat exchanger in the lower part of the hull. This would then make better use of the heat exchanger and potentially heat the water.

I think option 1 is the best as it would heat the water faster than option 2.
What does the group think?
Any advice on the How To on either option?

Thanks

Brent
Phase3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2020, 12:00 PM   #2
Guru

City: Gig Harbor
Vessel Name: Kinship
Vessel Model: North Pacific 43