Old 11-29-2018, 05:52 PM   #1

City: Pensacola
Knocking

Got a knocking in my port Ford Lehman 120. Injector? Any thoughts or advice. Just finished 800 mile trip.
Garywbryan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2018, 06:30 PM   #2
Enigma

City: Slicker?
Greetings,
Welcome aboard. Sorry, I'm not a mechanic although we do have 120 Lehmans. I wouldn't recognize knocking if it bit me on the foot. Best wishes.
Old 11-29-2018, 06:38 PM   #3

City: Out and About
Vessel Model: Sold-GB 52 Europa, Queenship 59, Tolly 45
Any smoke?

You can determine which cylinder causes the knock by loosening injector fuel lines one at a time. If the knock goes away when you loosen a particular fuel line, you have identified the cylinder. Knocks can be caused by injectors, bearings, pistons, valves, etc.
gsholz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2018, 06:55 PM   #4

City: North NJ
Vessel Name: Bassey
Vessel Model: 17' Bass
Or a infrared gun to the exhaust manifold to determine which is colder if you are having a dead cylinder.
TowLou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2018, 09:55 PM   #5
Guru

City: Gibsons, B.C., Canada
Vessel Name: Island Pride
Vessel Model: Palmer 32'
A knock can also be caused by a faulty injector which feeds too much fuel or at the wrong time due to the pressure spec. being off spec.

Should be able to find the injector by doing as described in post #3 by gsholz
C lectric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2018, 10:20 PM   #6
Guru

City: Boston
Vessel Name: Adelante
Vessel Model: IG 30
You might be able to narrow down the source with a mechanics stethoscope. if knock is high on the engine you might have an injector problem or timing issue. If knock is low then it might be connecting rod wrist pin bearings that could fail due to high mileage, high load, blocked oil passage.

Might be a good idea to pay for an hour of diagnostic time from your local diesel expert. Knocks aren't good.
SoWhat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2018, 10:31 PM   #7
Guru