Old 07-11-2012, 08:55 PM   #1
Guru

City: Cary, NC
Vessel Name: Skinny Dippin'
Vessel Model: Navigator 4200 Classic
Idea to quiet fridge

When the compressor of our Not-cold refrigerator kicks on, a low vibration and dull hum encompasses the entire vessel. It's moderately irritating on nights when it's already difficult to sleep.

I have been thinking about the fact that the cabinet it's mounted in are a few large flat boards. I am a sound guy by trade and I just see the cabinet as a giant 3-sided speaker. Also being a car guy, I was wondering if lining the inside of the mounting hole with "hush mat" material will quiet it down.

Anyone see a problem with this? Just thought I would run it by you.

Tom-
Attached Thumbnails
fridge.jpg  
Old 07-11-2012, 09:54 PM   #2
Guru

City: PNW
Vessel Model: 1976 Californian Tricabin LRC
Hmmm, kind of looks like mine!! My not-so-cold started making a buzzing, vibration sound too. I finally couldn't stand it anymore and took the screws out and pulled it forward out of it's cabinett. The compressor is mounted to the sheetmetal back of the fridg, on a bracket, with some sheet metal screws. It sets up a vibration between the compressor, the lines and fridg. I finally used a couple of strips or rubber inner tube squeezed between the compressor and the fridge to stop the vibration.

There is probably a better way to do this, but it stopped the immediate problem and my head feels better now too.

Larry B
Edelweiss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2012, 07:18 AM   #3

City: Spring Lake, MI
Vessel Name: Great Laker
Vessel Model: American Tug 34
Noise is transmitted through the air and conducted throughout the boat through the refers attachment to the boats structure. For the best result, you will need to address both sources of noise.