How to run a common rail

The friendliest place on the web for anyone who enjoys boating.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.
Since I am new to larger Diesel engines, I have asked similar questions.

My boat has a turbo-charged Cummins 5.9L QSB engine rated at 380hp. Unfortunately, I have the opportunity to spend some time with a very experienced and senior Cummins mechanic. I asked him some of those very questions. This is what he said.

1. Start up and make sure the idle is smooth. Then leave the dock. Allow the temps to rise to close to normal operating temps before adding a lot of power.

I would add to #1 to quickly check for continuing water flow from the exhaust.

1. Start up and make sure the idle is smooth. Then leave the dock. Allow the temps to rise to close to normal operating temps before adding a lot of power.

I would add to #1 to quickly check for continuing water flow from the exhaust.

Yes, that is an important one. I usually step off the boat to release lines and I check the exhaust at that time.

This is all gleaned from the truck forums and experience. The Bosch high pressure pump, particularly the Va-4 and to a lesser extent the Va-3 is extremely sensitive to any water in it, self destructing and sending detritus through the fuel system ruining the injectors. On a Ford pickup, the repair bill is around $10K, you know it happens frequently because there is a Ford p.n. for the kit of parts required. This is also happening on the Duramax (Isuzu) and less often the Ram (Cummins) engines. All of them use the Bosch pump and injectors.

The consensus is to avoid (and Ford specifically warns against) any additive that claims to disperse water, or has any alcohol in it as that makes the water more soluble in diesel and helps get it by the filters. Some additives claim to condense water from suspension - which would be good because large droplets are easily filtered - but I don't know if I believe them.