Old 03-08-2016, 09:25 PM   #1

City: fort lauderdale
Help rudder packing box

Hey guys I am in in need of your help. I have a 1978 albin 36. My rudder packing has started leaking at least 5 gallons a day. I am new to large boat ownership so am having to learn quickly. Anyway the boat is located in fort lauderdale and to put the boat on the hard not only is terribly expensive but there is a huge waiting list. Has anyone done the packing still in the water? I am concerned with something going wrong and being in a really bad spot. I have tried to find videos or pics to more of what I am up against but am having trouble. Any help? Thanks in advance
prcdnl785 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2016, 09:34 PM   #2
Enigma

City: Slicker?
Greetings,
Damp welcome aboard. Here's some information that can be directly applied to rudder stuffing boxes as well. Yes, they have been successfully repacked while afloat. Better minds than I can suggest which TF threads to look up.
Re-Packing A Traditional Stuffing Box Photo Gallery by Compass Marine How To at pbase.com
Old 03-08-2016, 09:45 PM   #3

My rudder shaft stuffing box is a lot different than the stuffing box pictured. I have two nuts up top holding on the top on . My prop shaft looks more like one pictured in the link. Thanks for the info I sure a lot of the information will help my future problems. I will try to post pics tomorrow.
Old 03-08-2016, 10:44 PM   #4
Guru

City: NARBONNE
Vessel Name: 'Snow Mouse.'
Vessel Model: BROOM FLYBRIDGE 42.
prcdnl785.
I've had both types. the type RT Firefly gave you the link for on was on my prop shaft. I changed that one for a PSS seal due to po hacking it with a chisel and over tightening it as he didn't have the right spanner.
I also have the type with 2 nuts on the top on my rudder.
Firstly, it may only need adjusting so try this first.