HELP! Diesel Odor in Aft Stateroom - Help in Mitigating?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone who enjoys boating.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Rockport

Vessel Name
Furnished Escape
Vessel Make
Nova 44 Sundeck Trawler
Hi all-

I'm new to all this. Purchased an 88 Nova CPMY Sundeck Trawler. Our second boat (1st was a sailboat). We love it!

There were some leaky tanks in the compartment under the stern fishing deck of the boat which we cut out and removed. The area does not appear to have bilge access from this compartment. Its been thoroughly cleaned with orange oil, and painted. However, it does (still) smell somewhat of diesel / hydraulic fluid.

Way more annoying is that the smell is also in the aft stateroom. There are tanks under the bed, so we don't really seem to have any access to the bilge area under the bed.

I'm looking for any suggestions on how to mitigate this smell. I'm thinking there must be some fluid in this area of the bilge, but it's relatively inaccessible. The stern end of the engine room has a big genset and batteries.

Are there any oil-consuming bio-products that anyone has any experience with? If i cannot get to the area, maybe i can release some critters that will find their way there and convert any petroleum products in the bilge to something that doesn't stink?

Thanks!

Mike

SevenKs+Port+Bow.JPG

Greetings,
Welcome aboard! What you might try is a boroscope, of some type to at least "take a look" at the hidden recesses.

While there probably are oil eating microbes, personally, I would want to actually see what is hidden but that's just me. You may have to install access plates at strategic locations for future forays into the your new mistress's innards.

One advantage of the boroscope "look-see" is you can check out locations that would be most suitable for said inspection plates.

Buy and Read Peggy Hill's book. "Getting rid of boat odors".