Gas Tank Help

The friendliest place on the web for anyone who enjoys boating.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

MYNantucket

Veteran Member
Vessel Name
Knot 4 Sail
Vessel Make
Mainship 400 Nantucket
How difficult is it to cut the gas tank out of a boat ? I have a port tank that had a leak when purchased and I fear the starboard tank isn’t far behind. They are both aluminum and in a trapezoid shape 150 gallon. Has anyone done this before ?

Assuming they're diesel tanks where some cutting can done safely, it shouldn't be too bad. If they're gas, it's a whole different story. But either way, effort to remove depends a lot on the boat in question and where the tanks are mounted.

They are gas, tanks are mounted next to both engines on the outer sides below the gunnels. I figure they will have to be cut out of the side of the ship. It could get ugly

As far as I know you can not cut gas tanks up. I'm no engineer but I have given this problem some thought in the past and I come up empty.

Filling them with water may decrease risk but greatly increase the mess factor. I have thought of filling them with an inert gas but also awfully risky.

There must be a solution but it is beyond me.

The big question is "How does an aluminum gasoline tank develop a leak?" Must be a seam which can be repared if you can find it. There are numerous puttys and caulks which could close an open seam or pinhole.

Keep us posted, this is an interesting thread.

pete

Personally, with tanks outboard of engines, I'd be more inclined to pull an engine, then a tank rather than cutting the hull. Even a big block gas engine is only about 1000 lbs fully dressed (plus transmission), so figuring out a rig to lift an engine out of the way one at a time shouldn't be too terrible.