Old 10-12-2020, 10:00 PM   #1
Veteran Member

City: Semiahmoo
Vessel Name: Ardeidae
Vessel Model: Defever 44
Epoxy or Polyester, how do you know which?

I saw a suggestion on another thread that said, if you have screw holes or you a going to make any, in your deck, you should drill an oversized hole and fill it with the proper resin, epoxy or polyester. There was no information on how to know which to use. It just said that it had to match what was used on the deck GRP. My question is, how do you know what that is, or how can you find out? Does it really matter? I'm looking at cracks that need repair also. I've never worked with fiberglass before but, I'm up (down?) for learning. I'll try to include a picture.
Click image for larger version

Name:	Cracks in hardtop.jpg
Views:	94
Size:	49.3 KB
ID:	108877

jbloyd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2020, 10:16 PM   #2
Guru

City: Port Credit
Vessel Name: DIRT FREE
Vessel Model: Benford Fantail 38
Epoxy boats are extremely rare due to the high cost of epoxy.
New epoxy will bond to old polyester
New polyester will not bond to old epoxy.

Epoxy has a much better adhesive quality than polyester regardless of the original resin

If in doubt use epoxy.

I had an allergic reality - Jillie the Bean
boatpoker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2020, 10:24 PM   #3
Guru

City: Au Gres, MI
Vessel Name: Never Say Never
Vessel Model: President 41 DC
For repairs I prefer epoxy. It is stronger and will grab onto the old fiberglass better. It is a bit more expensive but it is probably insignificant in the overall scheme of things boating.
Comodave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2020, 10:29 PM   #4
Veteran Member

Comodave & boatpoker, thanks. Epoxy it is. Takes the guesswork out and, in either case, as long as I use epoxy the end result will be superior to poly.
Old 10-12-2020, 10:48 PM   #5
Guru

City: Au Gres, MI
Vessel Name: Never Say Never
Vessel Model: President 41 DC