crack in transom door frame

The friendliest place on the web for anyone who enjoys boating.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

tugboater

Veteran Member
Vessel Name
Sojourn
Curious how to go about the "best practice" fix for this (see photos)? Assuming excavate & fill? If so, what materials? I'm new to fiberglass. Google offers up so many solutions...would love to hear what some of you forum folks have done & what methods/materials/fillers have achieved the best results. Surveyor says moisture content appears to be negligible...seems probable because the boat has been in a covered slip and rarely used the last few years. Would like to do this once the right way.
Also, is there a fiberglass repair "bible" out there that is widely used?

Thanks!

DSCN3085.jpg

DSCN3083.jpg

DSCN3086.JPG

Last edited:
A friend of mine had a Trojan 10.8 Meter that had almost same cracking. We ground out down to solid glass and then laid in several layers of 1708 glass using epoxy for strength. After the glass we filled and faired it out with thickened epoxy. After fairing and sanding we painted it with 2 part polyurethane paint. We used Quantum spray paint that comes in a spray can. Then on the deck we painted it with Kiwigrip non skid paint. I will ask the owner if he has any photos and will post them if he does.

"Boat Works Today" -a You Tube channel has some really good tutorials - what materials and how to use it to fix something like that.

Nothing magic about fiberglass repair -
https://www.youtube.com/user/boatworkstoday

Here are some photos of the repairs we did on his gate. They are not in any particular order of repair.

Attachments

• AEACF2B4-1187-43E4-86DB-9D6939B8C74A.jpg
    AEACF2B4-1187-43E4-86DB-9D6939B8C74A.jpg
    62.2 KB · Views: 35
  • E15A5141-347D-4477-8823-EDFCBA8D87DA.jpg
    E15A5141-347D-4477-8823-EDFCBA8D87DA.jpg
    73.1 KB · Views: 34
  • 42B58D48-63AE-4403-8F3F-93915AC9B742.jpg